SCP’s 2019 Annual Meeting is in the Bag

This morning, SCP held our annual meeting at De Anza Park. This is the time in the year that the members of SCP join with the Board to get an update on SCP’s progress and to make important decisions that the Board alone cannot make.

Food and Fun

This meeting is the end cap on our 2018-2019 fiscal year and our landmark Golden Anniversary 50th season. We decided that a landmark this big deserved to go out with a bang, so we had a fantastic brunch catered by Mikayla’s Cafe. The meal was fantastic, it had breakfast tacos, burgers, apple french toast, biscuits and gravy and more.

The food was amazing


SCP is super excited to award the 2019 Evelyn Ruth Schinski Memorial Scholarship to Hannah Milon! Hannah truly embodies what is great about the youth involved in SCP Theater and she is currently studying Theater at Foothill College following graduating from High School last year.

Congratulations Hannah Milon!


It is our tradition at Sunnyvale Community Players to award several awards at our annual meeting to individuals who helped make the season a success and embody the ideals of the great people of SCP’s history that the awards are named in honor of.

Sandi Award

Each year we award a Sandi Award to one volunteer from each production of the season. Congratulations to each of these award winners, you all richly deserve this honor.

  • Grease: Marc Lewart
  • Cabaret: Blaire Chennault
  • Bye Bye Birdie: Charles Seegel
  • The Wiz: Patricia Tani

Neal McCaw Award

The Neal McCaw Award is given out to a volunteer who has helped SCP’s season as a whole, either by volunteering for multiple productions, or by helping SCP with our needs outside of the scope of individual shows. This year we are honored to award the Neal McCaw Award to David Mitchell. Congrats David, you’ve done so much for SCP this year, and before.

Virginia Hannum President’s Award

Both the Sandi and the Neal McCaw awards are limited to volunteers only, but our various show staff and board members are always going above and beyond the call of duty, and the Virginia Hannum President’s Award is given to an individual who went above and beyond in any capacity, volunteer, staff or otherwise. This year SCP is honored to give the Virginia Hannum President’s Award to an individual who has been there for everyone here at SCP: Bob Martin. Congratulations Bob, you deserve this!

Introducing the Shapiro Bringing it Beyond Award!

Steve and Marcie Shapiro have done so much for SCP over the last 5 years, that the Board has decided that the time was right to introduce a brand new award in their honor.


  • The award is for board members or a members at large of SCP
  • Involved in at least one SCP activity and/or event outside of the seasons productions
  • Involved in a production within the season
  • Most importantly, the individual emotes that above and beyond dedication to SCP as a company, and overall quality of the production(s). A person with the Shapiro understanding and work ethic, that “always say yes” improv spirit with the openness to work with all people the best they can.   

For this inaugural awarding of the Shapiro Bringing it Beyond award, the Board of Sunnyvale Community Players is proud to honor the 2 individuals the award is named after, Steve and Marcie Shapiro.

Steve and Marcie Shapiro, the inaugural winners of The Shapiro Bringing it Beyond Award.

Congratulations Steve and Marcie, this award will live on in your honor for years to come.

Introducing the Shapiro Standing Ovation Award

When asked who should be awarded the Sandi award for Bye Bye Birdie, Steve immediately started listing a ton of people who he felt deserved the award. Unfortunately we can’t award that many awards, and many of them weren’t eligible.

In Steve’s honor we are introducing a new honorary award, the Shapiro Standing Ovation Award


  • Paid staff or volunteer of all ages are eligible
  • Involved in a production within the season
  • Again, most important is this person would encompass the Shapiro spirit mentioned in the above award 

The first 3 recipients of the Shapiro Standing Ovation Award are Libby Brill, Skyler Riordan, and Mike Bjorge. Congratulations to all of you, you three work very hard on every show you do and we are proud to honor you with this brand new award.

A Special Thanks to Steve Shapiro

As this annual meeting marks the end of Steve’s final year as president of SCP, the Board wanted to give a personal gift to Steve to thank him for his years of service. Steve came to SCP at a time when SCP was in deep need, we were often having more people on the stage than off, and our income levels were dire.

Now we are regularly selling out the house and we have been amping up our production quality with the extra revenue.

As a special thank you, SCP’s board wanted to give Steve a gift that he would use for years to come and would always remind him of his time with SCP. As a skilled musician, we decided to buy Steve a new portable keyboard with a custom embroidered case to carry it in.

We ordered him a Yamaha P-125 88 key keyboard which we know from previous conversations with Steve is one he really likes. The package we got for him includes a keyboard stand, a music stand, an extra pedal and a collapsable piano bench. To carry it around to his various gigs, we bought a fantastic GK88 case from Gator Cases.

Our own Casey Keys added custom embroidery to the case, adding the SCP logo and an inscription.

Our eternal thanks to you Steve for everything you’ve done, we hope you enjoy your new keyboard, and we look forward to seeing both you and your keyboard at upcoming productions.

Down to Business

After all this thanks and celebration, the time came to get down to business and get work done. We started with approving a number of changes to our Bylaws, which will be reflected in our official Bylaws document as of today.

Executive Board Elections

We ended the meeting with our elections for our 2019/2020 Executive Board. For those of you who were not there, it is our pleasure to introduce the new Executive Board for Sunnyvale Community Players:

PresidentMinna Rogers
Vice PresidentRamesh Krishnan
TreasurerBarbara Moline
SecretaryNick Moline
Group Photo of Board Members present
Group Photo of Board Members present, including our new president Minna Rogers

Thank you to everyone who came out and had their voice heard at our annual meeting, you are SCP, and we are very glad you all came. Our new Executive Board, as well as the rest of SCP’s Board of Directors is excited to get to work continuing SCP’s great legacy of providing amazing theater to the Sunnyvale Community.

Trackbacks & Pings

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: